2017-2018 Staff Directory

Leadership 
Mr. Tanner, Principal

I began my teaching career in 1988 here at Val Verde Elementary School back in the day when there were only two schools in the district. I am very excited to be back here where it all began.  The district and our school have come a long way since then.  My Administration career has given me the opportunity to be a school principal at five different schools in San Diego and Riverside counties.  I came back home because of the amazing progress this district has made in student achievement.  I am proud to be part of the effort and to be working at a school where some of my former students are now parents of my current students.

We have a very dedicated and hardworking staff that will go above and beyond the ordinary to provide the best possible education for our students.   This year we are excited to be in our second year of Elementary AVID implementation.  You will see elements of the AVID Program in all of our classes in Kindergarten through 6th grade.  You will also see and hear evidence or our establishing a College Going Culture at our school.

We welcome you to join us in our AVID Journey. We know it will be a great asset for our students.

Tanner Mr. Tim Tanner
Mr. Flower, Assistant Principal

It is my sincere pleasure to be the assistant principal at Val Verde Elementary School.  Val Verde Elementary School is a pillar of the City of Perris and has a distinguished history of excellence.  Staff members have created a caring and nurturing culture that seeks positive ways to support students in their academic success endeavors.

The Val Verde Elementary School culture has allowed me to build upon my experiences in education and embrace the learning environment in very positive ways.  Students are excited to learn and strive daily to excel both academically and socially.  I believe that if we continue to work together, as a team, that we can continue to carry on the legacy of excellence established at Val Verde Elementary School. LLAP.......

Flower
Mr. Dan Flower

Teachers
Name Email Website Special Assignment
Kindergarten
Theresa Barbeau tbarbeau@valverde.edu    
Mavie Rosas mrosa@valverde.edu   Grade Level Chair
Kara Ring kbrennan@valverde.edu    
1st Grade
Cindy Armijo  carmijo@valverde.edu    
Sandra Sloan   ssloan@valverde.edu    
Joan Frost  jfrost@valverde.edu   Grade Level Chair
2nd Grade
Marisol Ortiz  mortiz@valverde.edu    
Kelly Mansfield  kmansfield@valverde.edu   Grade Level Chair
Kayla Weaver  kweaver@valverde.edu    
3rd Grade
Alex Alcazar  aalcazar@valverde.edu   Grade Level Chair 
Laura Gossett  lgossette@valverde.edu    
Bonnie Wilson  bwilson@valverde.edu   GATE 
4th Grade
Cindy Lee  cclee@valverde.edu   Grade Level Chair
Sherry Mellor  smellor@valverde.edu   GATE Coordinator
AnaMarie Palmer  apalmerin@valverde.edu    
5th Grade
Sandy Benedict  sbenedict@valverde.edu    
Diane Coulombe  dcoulombe@valverde.edu   Grade Level Chair
DeRon Johnson  djohnson@valverde.edu    
Amanda Warasky  awarasky@valverde.edu    EMT Facilitator
6th Grade
 Ligia Ayala-Rodriguez layala-rodriguez@valverde.edu   Grade Level Chair-math/Science
Christine Bereal-Page  cbereal-page@valverde.edu   AVID-Grade Level Chair-ELA-Soc. studies
Henry Campbell  hcampbell@valverde.edu   AVID-ELA-Soc. Studies
Michael Clarke  mclarke@valverde.edu   ELA-Soc. Studies
Carla Jenkins  cjenkins@valverde.edu    RSP
Sheila Larson  slarson@valverde.edu    PE
Cindy Quadrozzi  chaglund@valverde.edu   ELA-Soc. Studies
Joey Espinoza  jespinoza@valverde.edu    Math-Science
Margaret Swanson  mswanson@valverde.edu    Math-Science
David Turino  dturino@valverde.edu    PE
Kathy Turney  kturney@valverde.edu    SDC
Jason Wachenheimer  jwachenheimer@valverde.edu    Band
Nicole Rottnek  nrottnel@valverde.edu    Math-Science
 Marie McFarland mmcfarland@valverde.edu    Learning Center
 Tricia Gerard tgerard@valverde.edu   Learning Center
 Kathy Turney  kturney@valverde.edu   SDC 6th Grade

Support Staff 
Name Assignment Email
Special Education
Laurie Gajecki Speech & Language  
Dr. Chesonis Psychologist  
Instructional Coach
Laurie Wong Instructional Coach  
Counselor
Jonnie Thomas Counselor  

 Front Office
Name Assignment Contact
Kathy Cunningham Librarian  
Lourdes Franco 6th Grade Attendance  
Martha Gavilanes Bilingual Clerk  
Monica Johnston Secretary 951-940-8550
Jessica Mendoza Health Technician  
Abby Murillo Cafeteria  
Jeanette Saenz K-5 Grade Attendance  
 Steve Esmond District Security Officer II